Login    Forum    Register    Search    FAQ

Board index » HELP AND ADVICE » G33K'S CORNER




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Sapphire HD 4850 X2 2GB GDDR3 Quad DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphi
 Post Posted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:29 pm 
Offline
Made in Taiwan
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 9:14 pm
Posts: 3549
Location: Bonneville salt flats.
Just ordered this. I guess I should start gaming again to justify it.

_________________
Don't worry Sony, I'll just cancel my date of birth and get a new one.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sapphire HD 4850 X2 2GB GDDR3 Quad DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphi
 Post Posted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:59 pm 
Offline
I'm ghey 4 teh Hoff!
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 5:18 pm
Posts: 4142
f'in hell, 2Gb memory on it :?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sapphire HD 4850 X2 2GB GDDR3 Quad DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphi
 Post Posted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 6:45 pm 
Offline
Bow down to the master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 2414
Location: satnav offline
:shock: very nice

_________________
m
mmmmYou sir, are a swaggering addlepated jackanapes!
m


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sapphire HD 4850 X2 2GB GDDR3 Quad DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphi
 Post Posted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 6:47 pm 
Offline
Bow down to the master

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 8:24 pm
Posts: 1233
ive got one of those. runs absolutely everything full whack with no fuss. Also saves on heating bills during this winter.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sapphire HD 4850 X2 2GB GDDR3 Quad DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphi
 Post Posted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 7:46 pm 
Offline
Bow down to the master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:36 pm
Posts: 2808
Location: Ireland
only issue is that you probably dont want to be running xp 32 bit due to the 4 gig limit. but nice card

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sapphire HD 4850 X2 2GB GDDR3 Quad DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphi
 Post Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:50 pm 
Offline
Made in Taiwan
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 9:14 pm
Posts: 3549
Location: Bonneville salt flats.
CoolMan=GCHQ= wrote:
only issue is that you probably dont want to be running xp 32 bit due to the 4 gig limit. but nice card


The PC it's on already has 6GB of RAM! I gave up 32 bit when Vista was launched. I have a 3GB RAM Drive where I have installed second life to (and its texture cache). Ever little helps.

_________________
Don't worry Sony, I'll just cancel my date of birth and get a new one.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sapphire HD 4850 X2 2GB GDDR3 Quad DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphi
 Post Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:55 pm 
Offline
Made in Taiwan
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 9:14 pm
Posts: 3549
Location: Bonneville salt flats.
moo wrote:
ive got one of those. runs absolutely everything full whack with no fuss. Also saves on heating bills during this winter.


Is it as noisy as "they" say? My current card (8800GT) is quiet but really really hot and crashes it's drivers when pushed. One of the reasons I gave up gaming was that I had so many difficulties to get games to run on it without it's temp skyrocketing. I have heard the new card is noisy but cool.

I'm eager to start gaming again.

_________________
Don't worry Sony, I'll just cancel my date of birth and get a new one.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sapphire HD 4850 X2 2GB GDDR3 Quad DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphi
 Post Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 2:01 pm 
Offline
The Groundkeeper
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 7:59 pm
Posts: 6054
Location: UK
Very nice. :grin:

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sapphire HD 4850 X2 2GB GDDR3 Quad DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphi
 Post Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2009 2:15 pm 
Offline
Bow down to the master

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 8:24 pm
Posts: 1233
erm..noisyish. but not massively. muh the same as most pc's i think really. hardly ever done a scientific test on that kind of thing and never ever will.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sapphire HD 4850 X2 2GB GDDR3 Quad DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphi
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 1:57 pm 
Offline
Made in Taiwan
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 9:14 pm
Posts: 3549
Location: Bonneville salt flats.
Well the card turned up and I squeezed it into the case. Sure its faster and works nicely but not I dont seem able to used my USB Keyboard in the BIOS (yes I have checked the settings) and I don't seem able to enter the Raid config screen on bootup (even using a PS2 KB), then screen to do this just doesn't show. I am using the same bios settings as before.

I had to move my raid array to different ports as the card is so damn huge, this broke the array obviously, I can rebuild it but only if I enter the raid config screen, There is nothing important on it but i'd like it back given the choice.

Any ideas?

_________________
Don't worry Sony, I'll just cancel my date of birth and get a new one.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sapphire HD 4850 X2 2GB GDDR3 Quad DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphi
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 8:10 pm 
Offline
Bow down to the master

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 8:24 pm
Posts: 1233
I have a pc going for £150. but since its you, £147.50.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sapphire HD 4850 X2 2GB GDDR3 Quad DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphi
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 11:59 pm 
Offline
Decidedly uninterested
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:10 pm
Posts: 10184
Location: I watch you while you sleep
Sapphire, eh? GLWT PAL :thumbr:

_________________
Image
The Pancreas of S.T.F.U. | Never take life too seriously - nobody gets out alive anyway.
Disco_jim: um..... I have no excuse. | Chips: Thank the Beef | Rev Dr: Beef, I think i wee'd a little


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sapphire HD 4850 X2 2GB GDDR3 Quad DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphi
 Post Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:17 pm 
Offline
Made in Taiwan
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 9:14 pm
Posts: 3549
Location: Bonneville salt flats.
LeBeourfCurtaine wrote:
Sapphire, eh? GLWT PAL :thumbr:

Sapphire are bad? Why's that then?

_________________
Don't worry Sony, I'll just cancel my date of birth and get a new one.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sapphire HD 4850 X2 2GB GDDR3 Quad DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphi
 Post Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:36 pm 
Offline
Decidedly uninterested
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:10 pm
Posts: 10184
Location: I watch you while you sleep
They had an unfortunate reputation for poorly put together cards a couple of years ago. May be fine now...

_________________
Image
The Pancreas of S.T.F.U. | Never take life too seriously - nobody gets out alive anyway.
Disco_jim: um..... I have no excuse. | Chips: Thank the Beef | Rev Dr: Beef, I think i wee'd a little


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sapphire HD 4850 X2 2GB GDDR3 Quad DVI HDTV Out PCI-E Graphi
 Post Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2009 11:01 pm 
Offline
Bow down to the master
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 6:38 pm
Posts: 2499
Location: Between .local and dev:null :D
Maybe take the card out and put it back to the way it was? But BEFORE you do, note down the new array config. Now, change it back to pre-new-gfx-card and config like that. Save, shutdown and put pc back to the way you had it WITH the NEW gfx card.

With any luck, raid fixed. :cheers:
If not, um.... BIOS upgrade for mobo?
After that, the pub calls :Drunk: :P

_________________
Image
My work blog | My Flickr | Complaints form | Get Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » HELP AND ADVICE » G33K'S CORNER


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
  • Shoutbox
  • Shout Message


test
cron